Journalism in the Public Interest


ProPublica’s Jennifer LaFleur Inducted into the National Freedom of Information Act Hall of Fame

Jennifer LaFleur, ProPublica's director of computer-assisted reporting, has been selected as part of the 2011 class of the National Freedom of Information Act Hall of Fame -- an honor given by the First Amendment Center to individuals who "work on behalf of freedom of information and its impact on government access policies and practices."

LaFleur's fellow 2011 inductees include: Tony Mauro, National Law Journal; Sean Moulton, OMB Watch; David C. Vladeck, Federal Trade Commission's Bureau of Consumer Protection; and Anne Weismann, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington.

"These men and women have developed and defended federal legislation, ensuring the right of the American public to know about the actions of its government and helping journalists use the act in their work," the selection committee wrote.

LaFleur has written extensively on FOIA requests and was invited to speak at an event celebrating Sunshine Week -- a national initiative to raise awareness about the importance of open government and freedom of information -- for her expertise. Watch the full discussion below.

Congratulations Jennifer!

Add a comment

Email me when someone responds to this article.

Contact ProPublica

One Exchange Plaza
55 Broadway
23rd Floor
New York, NY 10006


Complete Contact Information »

Get Our Data and Reporting Tools

We frequently publish data, and reporting tools like tipsheets and guides.

Sign Up