Journalism in the Public Interest

ProPublica Appoints Journalism Advisory Board

New York, NY (February 11, 2008)— Paul E. Steiger, editor-in-chief of ProPublica, a non-profit newsroom producing journalism in the public interest, today announced the appointment of a journalism Advisory Board.

The members of the new Advisory Board are: Jill Abramson, a managing editor of The New York Times; Martin D. Baron, the editor of The Boston Globe; David Boardman, the executive editor of the Seattle Times; Robert A. Caro, historian and biographer of Robert Moses and Lyndon Johnson; John S. Carroll, the former editor of the Los Angeles Times and the Baltimore Sun; L. Gordon Crovitz, a former publisher of The Wall Street Journal; David Gergen, professor of public service at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government and director of its Center for Public Leadership; Shawn McIntosh, the director of culture and change at The Atlanta Journal-Constitution; Gregory L. Moore, the editor of The Denver Post; Priscilla Painton, the new editor-in-chief of Simon & Schuster; Allan Sloan, a senior editor at large for Fortune magazine; and Cynthia A. Tucker, the editor of the editorial page of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution. The Board will advise ProPublica’s editors from time to time on the full range of issues related to ProPublica’s journalism, from ethical issues to the direction of its reporting efforts.

ProPublica, when fully staffed later this year,.will have the largest news staff in American journalism devoted solely to investigative reporting, with roughly 25 fulltime reporters and editors. ProPublica will be supported entirely by philanthropy and will provide the articles it produces, free of charge, both through its own web site and to leading news organizations selected with an eye toward maximizing the impact of each article.

Mr. Steiger said, “We’re gratified that so many leading figures in American journalism have agreed to serve on ProPublica’s Advisory Board. Managing editor Steve Engelberg and I, and our other colleagues, will call on this distinguished group for insight and candid advice. We believe the Advisory Board’s contributions will make ProPublica more responsive and transparent, and will help us practice investigative journalism in the public interest.”

ProPublica is governed by a Board of Directors chaired by Herbert Sandler, president of the Sandler Foundation. Its members include Mr. Sandler, Mr. Steiger, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., the Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and the Director of the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research at Harvard University; Alberto Ibargüen, the president & CEO of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation; former U.S. Rep. James A. Leach, the director of Harvard’s Institute of Politics; and Rebecca Rimel, the president & CEO of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

More information on ProPublica can be found at

Contact: Richard Tofel 917-512-0250

Photo by flickr user sparkieblues


Latest Episode: VTDigger’s Anne Galloway was suspicious the moment she heard about a too-good-to-be-true development. She didn’t know how right she was.

Listen »

Contact ProPublica

155 Avenue of the Americas
13th Floor
New York, N.Y. 10013

Phone: 1-212-514-5250
Fax: 1-212-785-2634

Complete Contact Information »

Learn About ProPublica


A New Way to Participate in ProPublica's Journalism

Get Involved

Get Updates

ProPublica Wins MacArthur Foundation Award

Our Awards

ProPublica was a recipient of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize for public service, the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for explanatory reporting, the 2011 Pulitzer Prize for national reporting and a 2010 Pulitzer Prize for investigative reporting. See a full list of our awards.