Close Close Comment Creative Commons Donate Email Add Email Facebook Instagram Mastodon Facebook Messenger Mobile Nav Menu Podcast Print RSS Search Secure Twitter WhatsApp YouTube
Protect Independent Journalism Make a year-end donation to ProPublica.

ProPublica Wins Business and Design Awards

This post has been updated to reflect additional SND awards that were announced after this originally went up.

Today the Society of American Business Editors and Writers (SABEW) and the Society for News Design announced that ProPublica was among the winners of their various awards.

This year, ProPublica won four SABEW Best in Business (BIB) awards.  Paul Kiel was once again honored with awards in the digital feature and explanatory categories for his “The Great American Foreclosure Story” that uses the tale of a grandmother to illustrate the extent of the foreclosure crisis.  For the second year in a row, Jesse Eisinger took first place in their digital commentary category for his “The Trade” columns, which were about a range of Wall Street, finance and accountability issues.  And PBS Frontline and ProPublica were jointly awarded a BIB in the digital investigative category for their Cell Tower Deaths series by Liz Day, Ryan Knutson, Travis Fox, Martin Smith and Habiba Nosheen, which investigated why cell tower climbing has become one of the most dangerous jobs in America.

Meanwhile, the Society for News Design gave ProPublica four Awards for Excellence and two Silver Medals in their Best of Design competition.  Only three U.S. news organizations received more SND awards than ProPublica (the New York Times, Washington Post and NPR).  The Awards for Excellence went to Lena Groeger for her portfolio of work on behalf of ProPublica, Jeff Larson and Nikole Hannah-Jones for their "Housing Segregation: The Great Migration and Beyond" maps, Justin Elliott, Cora Currier and Lena Groeger for their "How Obama Drone Death Claims Stack Up" interactive, and to ProPublica's newsroom for our body of work over the past year.  The Silver medals went to Lena Groeger and Charles Ornstein for the Nursing Home Inspect news application and to the Pipeline Safety Tracker app by Lena Groeger.  And finally, ProPublica's widely-used Stateface tool received special recognition from the SND judges for it's "creativity and utility of leveraging a typeface to provide lightweight map shapes."

See a list of all of the SABEW BIB winners here and the SND winners here.  Congratulations to everyone.

Mike Webb

Mike Webb was the vice president/communications of ProPublica. He is a veteran communications specialist with experience in public relations, marketing, sales and campaign work at media companies, think tanks, political organizations and in the entertainment business.

Latest Stories from ProPublica

Current site Current page