Indiana Society of Professional Journalists, Story of the Year

Christian Sheckler, of the South Bend Tribune, and Ken Armstrong, of ProPublica, won Story of the Year from the Indiana Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists for their investigation into the Elkhart Police Department, which revealed disciplinary problems that led to the chief’s resignation, charges against two officers and an independent investigation.