Close Close Comment Creative Commons Donate Email Add Email Facebook Instagram Mastodon Facebook Messenger Mobile Nav Menu Podcast Print RSS Search Secure Twitter WhatsApp YouTube

Paul Steiger to Receive CPJ Lifetime Achievement Award

The Committee to Protect Journalists has announced it will be presenting the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime achievement in the cause of press freedom to ProPublica's executive chairman, Paul Steiger.

Steiger, who served as CPJ chairman from 2005 to 2011, took over the organization "at a time of significant challenges for press freedom around the world -- from Iraq, where 23 journalists were killed last year, to China, where 42 journalists are languishing in jail," CPJ officials noted.

Steiger was founding editor-in-chief, CEO and president of ProPublica from 2008 to 2012. Earlier, he served as the managing editor of the Wall Street Journal from 1991 to 2007, during which time the Journal news staff earned 16 Pulitzer Prizes. He will be honored at CPJ's annual award and benefit dinner in New York City on November 26. You can view all the CPJ award winners here. Congratulations, Paul.

Latest Stories from ProPublica

Current site Current page