Close Close Comment Creative Commons Donate Email Add Email Facebook Instagram Mastodon Facebook Messenger Mobile Nav Menu Podcast Print RSS Search Secure Twitter WhatsApp YouTube

ProPublica Wins ONA Award for the Second Year in a Row

ProPublica's Robin Fields, Al Shaw and Jennifer LaFleur were recipients of the Gannett Foundation Award for Innovative Investigative Journalism, Small Site for their series, Dialysis: High Costs and Hidden Perils of a Treatment Guaranteed to All. This is the second consecutive year ProPublica has won this award.

The series examined the flawed federal system governing dialysis and explained how taxpayers came to pay $20 billion annually for a program in which one out of four patients dies within a year of starting treatment. Fields also obtained once-confidential dialysis data that our team used to build a news application that showed the quality of care at individual dialysis clinics across the country.

ProPublica's Dollars for Docs series was also nominated in this category, and ProPublica was a finalist for General Excellence in Online Journalism, Small Site—a category it won in 2009.

You can read the awards announcement here. Congratulations to everyone involved.

Latest Stories from ProPublica

Current site Current page