ProPublica is pleased to be the recipient of the first Edward R. Murrow Award for Media Entrepreneurship from Washington State University’s Murrow College of Communication.

ProPublica is being recognized for its work as a "nonprofit provider of hard-hitting online journalism," according to Lawrence Pintak, the founding dean of Murrow College, which is named for the legendary CBS News broadcaster and journalist.

"It’s fitting to reward the outstanding leadership provided by ProPublica at a time when others are cutting back or eliminating investigative journalism," Pintak said.

The award will be presented at this year’s Murrow Symposium on April 19 and 20 at the Washington State University campus in Pullman, Wash. At the event, NPR’s Deborah Amos and PBS’s Judy Woodruff will both be presented with the Edward R. Murrow Lifetime Achievement Award.