Close Close Comment Creative Commons Donate Email Add Email Facebook Instagram Mastodon Facebook Messenger Mobile Nav Menu Podcast Print RSS Search Secure Twitter WhatsApp YouTube

Six ProPublica Reporters Named Livingston Award Finalists

ProPublica’s Robert Faturechi, Jeff Larson, Michael Grabell, Lena Groeger, Cezary Podkul and Marcelo Rochabrun have been named finalists in this year’s Livingston Awards, which honor outstanding achievement by journalists under the age of 35.

Faturechi was named a finalist in the national reporting category for his investigation, co-published with the Daily Beast and the Houston Chronicle, Super PAC Men: How Political Consultants Took a Texas Oilman on a Wild Ride. The cautionary tale detailed a reclusive Texas oilman with little political experience who launched one of the nation’s highest-spending conservative super PACs, only to have much of his fortune funneled to entities run by the group’s consultants and close associates – and ultimately implode.

Larson was recognized in the national category for Telecoms, Manufacturers Delaying Critical Patches for Classified Military Smartphones. Published in partnership with the Daily Beast, the story revealed how U.S. military officials used cell phones that were vulnerable to hackers, while delaying critical software updates that would protect classified information.

Grabell and Groeger were recognized in the national category for Insult to Injury: America’s Vanishing Worker Protections. The project, a collaboration with NPR, showed how states have been driven by big business and insurers to dismantle compensation for injured workers.

Podkul and Rochabrun were named finalists in the local category for their series The Rent Racket: How Landlords Sidestep Tenant Protections in New York City. Their reporting uncovered that New York City landlords who collect lucrative tax breaks in exchange for providing rent-stabilized housing failed to register up to 200,000 apartments for the program, which is plagued with inadequate oversight.

The judges will announce the winners in June. See a list of all finalists here.

Latest Stories from ProPublica

Current site Current page