Close Close Comment Creative Commons Donate Email Add Email Facebook Instagram Mastodon Facebook Messenger Mobile Nav Menu Podcast Print RSS Search Secure Twitter WhatsApp YouTube

Where States Stand on DNA Collection

June 8: This graphic has been updated.

Return to "The DNA Debacle: How the Federal Government Botched the DNA Backlog Crisis."

DNA Collection From Convicted Felons

The states filled in with red below collect DNA samples from anyone convicted of a felony. The samples are turned into DNA profiles and are then uploaded to the national DNA database. As the map shows, only Idaho, Nebraska and New Hampshire don't collect DNA samples from convicted felons.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures

DNA Collection From Some Arrestees

The 17 states filled in with red below have a law requiring the collection of DNA samples from people arrested for various crimes, even if they haven’t been convicted. The two states filled in with dark pink have passed such legislation that is awaiting the governor's signature. The 15 states filled in with light pink currently have legislation pending that would allow them to collect from arrestees, while the unfilled states neither have an arrestee law nor are considering one. Please note that while Texas already collects from people arrested for certain sex offenses, it is considering legislation that would require samples from many more categories of arrestees.

Source: FBI and ProPublica

Update: The second map has been updated to show that both Alabama and Colorado recently passed legislation requiring the collection of DNA samples from people arrested for various crimes. Florida and Missouri also recently passed such legislation, but theirs is awaiting governors' signatures.

Latest Stories from ProPublica

Current site Current page